Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

I hate the idea of throwing things away.  I had 3 big over ripe bananas sitting there waiting to be used.  I tweaked an old recipe of mine for Banana Nut Muffins and they turned out great.  The kids loved them.  My 7-year-old who isn’t a big eater tossed back 2 right away and then asked if I could make more for her lunch.  Sure!  No problem.  These were really quick to make despite the fact my 3-year-old was “helping”.  These muffins are not sweetened with anything but bananas.   Well, bananas and chocolate chips.  🙂  They are grain, nut, gluten, soy, dairy free and have no added sugar.  AND the kids still loved them. 

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

3 mashed over ripe bananas 

1/2 tsp baking soda

6 eggs

1/4 cup melted coconut oil 

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/2 cup chocolate chips (I use ENJOY LIFE)

I’m not much into the mucking around with the mixing of the wet in one bowl and then mixing of the dry in another bowl and then finally mixing the two together.  Sifting?  Forget it.  Way too many dishes.  So… Preheat your oven to 350.  In a large bowl add the bananas and mash them a bit.  You can use your hands for this and save dirtying yet another piece of kitchen equipment.  Add the eggs, baking soda, salt, nutmeg and melted coconut oil.  Use a hand mixer and mix until well blended.  Add the coconut flour and mix until pretty smooth.  Then stir in your chocolate chips.  Line 11 cupcake tins with liners.  I used a level ice cream scoop to spoon the batter into the lined tins.  12 would have made a nice number but the ice cream scoop made this recipe in 11.  Bake for 25-30 minutes until the tops are lightly browned and a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.  These are great warm.  If there are any left after these cool store them in the fridge.

This post was shared at: http://www.thehealthyhomeeconomist.com/monday-mania-1232012/, http://www.realfoodwholehealth.com/2012/01/fresh-bites-friday-january-27-2012/

9 thoughts on “Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. These sound terrific! Another wonderful thing to do with overripe bananas is to make “ice cream”—google One-Ingredient Banana Ice Cream and you’ll find a host of posts.

    As I mentioned in your blog post about why you eat paleo-style, I think tweaking old recipes is a great idea, but keeping the old ones is good for people who aren’t paleo or dairy free—and as Karen Joy said, it can document your own change in eat philosophy.

    Now I just have to order some Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips…….

    Like

    • I’ve seen that recipe for banana ice cream. Thanks for the reminder. I wanted to try it. It sounds great. For now though I need to send my hubby out to buy more bananas so that I can make more of these muffins later on in the week. My 7 year old is already asking for more and specifically some to take to her playdate next Friday.
      I did go back through my recipes. I created a separate tab for paleo recipes. Some of my earlier ones that are just gluten free I tweaked by changing things like grapeseed oil (ick) to coconut oil and agave to honey. I can live with them this way.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Weekly Gluten-Free Roundup – January 29, 2012 « Celiac Kitchen Witch

  3. Pingback: Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins « Shazzy's Ramblings…

Have something to say? I'd love to hear from you.